Community Preservation Committee

The composition of the Community Preservation Committee is one member of the Conservation Commission, one member of the Historical Commission, one member of the Planning Board, one member of the Recreation Advisory Board, one member of the Housing Authority and (4) Citizens at large.

Citizens of Franklin apply for the at-large positions and are appointed by the Town Administrator and ratified by Town Council for a two-year term. Citizen at large terms are staggered.

Useful Links

  • Community Preservation Committee

Key Terms

  • Community Preservation Act (CPA) – The Community Preservation Act (MGL Ch. 44B) helps communities preserve open space (passive or active), historic resources, and create affordable housing by creating a dedicated funding stream. A minimum of 10% of the annual fund revenues must be used for each of the three categories, while the remaining 70% may be allocated to any one of, or any combination of, the allowed uses.

How is it important to the town?

The Community Preservation Committee votes on how to spend the revenues collected under the CPA.